Library Board

The Chesapeake Library Board is an advisory board that is appointed by City Council. The Board provides input to the City Manager, Library Director, and City Council concerning matters relating to the conduct, improvement, and support of the Chesapeake Public Library. (City Code Sec 2-326) 

Meetings are held four (4) times per year (January, April, July and October) at 4:15 PM, on the fourth Wednesday of the scheduled month, and are open to the public.

If you have an issue you would like to bring to the board, please call 757.410.7104 or email


Mr. Larry A. Floyd - Chairman
Ms. Monica M. Wheaton - Vice Chairman

Mr. William Blake
Ms. Dale F. Craver

Ms. Lynn Davidson
Mr. Raymond L. Harper

Ms. Margaret "Dale" Harrell

Ex-Officio Members:

Ms. Helen Spruill - President, Norfolk County Historical Society

Mr. Richard “Richie” Babb - Supervisor of Media Services, Chesapeake Public Schools

Ms. Jamie VanOekel - President, Friends of the Chesapeake Public Library

Ms. Dawn Matheson - President and Chairman, Chesapeake Public Library Foundation
Ms. Victoria Strickland-Cordial - Director, Chesapeake Public Library


Meeting Schedule for 2015:


July 23, 2015 at 4:15 PM - Major Hillard Library Conference Room


October 29, 2014 at 4:15 PM - Greenbrier Library Conference Room


Please call 757.410.7104 for confirmation of meeting dates, location and information.

Back to Top